University Events

9th Convocation of DMIMS(Deemed to be University) - 12th April 2018
Service to Patients is Service to God : Shri Sudhirji  Mungantiwar
Shri Datta Meghe

The 9th Convocation Ceremony of Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences (Deemed to be University),  was held on 12th April, 2018 from 12.00 noon to 2.30 pm at Datta Meghe Auditorium in the premises of the University at Sawangi (Meghe), Wardha. Hon’ble Chancellor Shri Dattaji Meghe, Chief Guest Shri Sudhirji Mungantiwar, Hon’ble Minister of Finance & Planning, Forests, Govt of Maharashtra & the Guardian Minister of Wardha, Dr Ved Prakash Mishra, Hon’ble Chancellor of Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences (DU) & Pro Chancellor of DMIMS(DU), Dr.Rajiv M.Borle, Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor, Hon’ble Shri Sagarji Meghe, Member BOM, Dr B J Subhedar, Distinguished Physician from Central India, Dr. Neelamji Mishra, Hon’ble Pro Vice Chancellor,  Hon’ble Members of Board of Management, the Registrar Dr.A.J.Anjankar, Controller of Examinations, Deans of Constituent Colleges, Deans of Faculties and Officers of the University, were present on the dais. Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor Dr.Rajiv M. Borle delivered the welcome speech followed by presentation of the Report of the University highlighting the achievements of the University and the prospective developmental profile of the University and its teaching hospitals. During his address, he specifically mentioned the grant of ‘A+’ grade to the University by the NAAC in its 3rd cycle of accreditation which is a unique distinction of the University in the entire country.  He also mentioned the grant of autonomous status to the University by placing it under elite Group-1 Category of autonomous deemed to be Universities, by the UGC.

Shri Sudhir Mungantiwar

Dr. B. J. Subhedar, an eminent Physician and revered Teacher was honoured with the Honorary Degree “Doctorate in Medical Sciences” (Honoris Causa) at the hands of Hon’ble Chancellor & the Hon’ble Chief Guest, in recognition of his meritorious and exemplary services to the medical education, society and mankind. Dr.Ved Prakash Mishra, Hon’ble Pro-Chancellor during the course of his  address said that a new generation of graduands of the University will be entering into the profession after the conclusion of this grand convocation ceremony, which is being held today.  He also said that this is a historical occasion wherein they will be placing themselves in the annals of life.  The convocation ceremony is a serene and solemn occasion wherein the new graduands will be heralded and equipped appropriately with the desired academic qualification into the stream of life not only for the purposes of making an earning for their livelihood but also gaining the opportunity to enter into a noble profession of ‘Doctor’ for the service of the humanity. He congratulated all the graudands and medal winners for their meritorious performance.

Distinguished Chief Guest Shri Sudhirji  Mungantiwar, Hon’ble Minister of Finance & Planning, Forests, Govt of Maharashtra & the District Guardian Minister delivered the Convocation address. Hon’ble Chief Guest expressed happiness over the fact that so many students in various Faculties have been awarded Degrees, Diplomas, PG Degrees and other qualifications. He congratulated all the students who have received the degrees as well as recipients of the various medals and prizes. He expressed his desire that after coming out of the medical institution, the young Doctors will serve the society with commitment, dedication and missionary zeal. He advised the medical students that they should utilise the knowledge and skill gained by them for the benefit of poor and that serving the poor should be the main objective of people from medical fraternity. He further said that great challenges are looming in front of medical field and that tremendous efforts should be made by the Doctors for the benefit of poor patients. Medical treatment and service should bring smiles on the faces of patients. Doctors are true messengers on whom human beings repose complete faith. They come second to God only. “Service to patients is service to God”. 

Felicitation of Shri Sudhir Mungantiwar

A total of 884 students were conferred with UG, PG, Super speciality, M.Phil Degrees which included 28 doctoral degrees.  Apart from conferment of degrees, 88 gold medals, 4 silver medals and 13 cash prizes were awarded to 64 meritorious students for their academic excellence.  For the first time, MEDICON Young Researcher gold medals were awarded to 5 UG students, one from each faculty for their meritorious indulgence in research activity. Under the Faculty of Medicine, Dr.Ritika Tripathi, topped the medal tally with 8 gold medals and 3 prizes, Dr Tanmay Ramesh Gandhi, was awarded 7 gold medals, Dr Harmandeep Singh bagged 4 gold medals, Dr.Bheshna Sahu, bagged 3 gold medals and a prize, Dr.Ashlesha Shukla received 3 gold medals, Dr. Satyajit Sahu, was presented with 3 gold medals and a prize. Dr.Vasudha S Umate from Faculty of Ayurved got 3 gold, 1 silver medal & 3 prizes. Dr.Akshita Agarwal from Dental Faculty, was awarded two gold medals. The convocation ceremony was concluded with the recital of Pasayadan by Dr.Priyanaka Niranjane followed by singing of National Anthem.

DMIMS(Deemed to be University)

Dignitaries on the Dais

Hon. Dignitaries in relax mood...


Students of the year

Shri Sudhirji  Mungantiwar, Hon’ble Minister of Finance & Planning, Forests, Govt of Maharashtra & the District Guardian Minister delivering the Convocation address

Hon. Pro-Chancellor, Dr. Ved Prakash Mishra

Hon. Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Rajiv Borle

Hon. Registrar, Dr. Anil J. Anjankar

Hon. Pro Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Neelam Mishra

One of the Scholars has been awarded with degree

Ph.D. Scholars Awarded from different Faculties in 9th Convocation - 2018